Monday 4th April
I was standing in a school yard waiting for a child when another mother came up to me. Have you found work yet? she asked. Or are you still just writing? (Anne Tyler)

Monday 28th March
Writing became such a process of discovery that I couldn't wait to get to work in the morning: I wanted to know what I was going to say. (Sharon O'Brien)

Monday 21st March
A real book is not one that’s read, but one that reads us. (WH Auden)

Monday 14th March
All good books are alike in that they are truer than if they had really happened. (Ernest Hemingway) 

Monday 7th March
Forgive me for not writing but this man is exhausting. (Wallis Simpson)

Monday 28th February
Your writing voice is the deepest possible reflection of who you are. The job of your voice is not to seduce or flatter or make well-shaped sentences. In your voice your readers should be able to hear the contents of your mind, your heart, your soul. (Meg Rosoff)

Monday 22nd February
The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say. (Anaïs Nin)

Monday 15th February
No tricks. (Raymond Carver)

Monday 8th  February
Genius is the infinite capacity for taking pains. (Albert Einstein)

Monday 1st  February
Do not hoard what seems good for a later place in the book, or for another book; give it, give it all, give it now. (Annie Dillard)

Monday 26th January
Just write every day of your life. Read intensely. Then see what happens. Most of my friends who are put on that diet have very pleasant careers.(Ray Bradbury)

Monday 19th January
Every secret of a writer's soul, every experience of his life, every quality of his mind, is written large in his works. (Virginia Woolfe)

Monday 11th January
A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us. (Franz Kafka)

Monday 4th January
Good prose is like a window pane. (George Orwell)

Monday 28th December
The Great Way is not difficult for those who have no preferences. (Sengstan, Third Zen patriarch)

Monday 21st December
The pleasure of the text is that moment when my body pursues its own ideas - my body does not have the same ideas I do. (Roland Barthes)

Monday 14th December
What one story may have pointed out to me is of no avail in the writing of another. But 'avail' is not what I want; freedom ahead is what each story promises - beginning anew. And all the while, as further hindsight has told me, certain patterns in my work repeat themselves without my realising. (Eudora Welty)

Monday 7th December
Push it. Examine all things intensely and relentlessly. Probe and search each object in a piece of art. Do not leave it, do not course over it, as if it were understood, but instead follow it down until you see it in the mystery of its own specificity and strength. (Annie Dillard)

Monday 30th November
Tell all the truth but tell it slant. (Emily Dickinson)

Monday 23rd November
Do not worry. You have written before and you will write again. Just try to write just one true sentence. (Ernest Hemingway)

Monday 16th November
You will not find poetry anywhere unless you can bring some of it with you. (Joseph Joubert)

Monday 9th November
... any writer is in part all of his characters. How otherwise would they be known to him, occur to him, become what they are? (Eudora Welty)

Monday 2nd November
Concentrate. Narrow down. Exclude. (Henry Miller)

Monday 26th October
Writing' is a verb.

Monday 19th October
The artistic impulse seems not to wish to produce finished work. It certainly deserts us half way, after the idea is born; and if we go on, art is labour. (Clarence Day)

Monday 12th October
For me, writing is exploration; and most of the time, I'm surprised where it takes me. (Jack Dann)

Monday 5th October
Minds are like parachutes - they only function when open. (Anon)

Monday 29th September
I know that my original idea for a story is going to be only the point of departure for something that will push me in an unexpected way. (Mario Vargas Llosa)

Monday 22nd September
Writing a book is a bit like surfing. Most of the time you're waiting. And it's quite pleasant, sitting in the water waiting. But you are expecting that the result of a storm over the horizon in another time zone, usually days old, will radiate out in the form of waves. And eventually, when they show up, you turn around and ride that energy to the shore. It's a lovely thing, feeling that momentum. If you're lucky, it's also about grace. As a writer, you roll up to the desk every day, and then you sit there, waiting, in the hope that something will come over the horizon. And then you turn around and ride it in the form of a story. (Tim Winton) 

Monday 15th September
A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction; and that, as you will see, leaves the problem of the true nature of woman and the true nature of fiction unresolved. (Virgina Woolf)

Monday 8th September:
A great writer does not usually come to conclusions about life. He discerns a quality in it. Certain kinds of objects and incidents impress him with a certain weight and significance ... he is able to give to the particular the weight and force of the universal. (John Middleton Murray)

Monday 31st August:
Every style that is not boring is a good one. (Voltaire)

Monday 24th August:
Poetry is the language in which man explores his own amazement. (Christopher Fry)

Monday 17th August:
Forget all the rules. Forget about being published. Write for yourself and celebrate writing. (Melinda Haynes)

Monday 10th August:
Go easy on the adverbs. (Helen Garner)

Monday 3rd August:
A man's work is nothing but this slow trek to rediscover, through detours of art, those two or three great and simple images in whose presence his heart first opened. (Camus)

Monday 27th July:
And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt. (Sylvia Plath)

Monday 20th July:
No surprise for the writer, no surprise for the reader. (Robert Frost)

Monday 13th July:
Poetry is access to the dream mind. (Les Murray) 

Monday 6th July:
Writing every book, the writer must solve two problems: Can it be done? and, Can I do it? Every book has an intrinsic impossibility, which its writer discovers as soon as his first excitement dwindles. The problem is structural; it is insolvable; it is why no one can ever write this book. Complex stories, essays, and poems have this problem too - the prohibitive structural defect the writer wishes he had never noticed. He writes it in spite of that. He finds ways to minimise the difficulty; he strengthens other virtues; he cantilevers the whole narrative out into thin air, and it holds. And if it can be done, then he can do it, and only he. For there is nothing in the material for this book that suggests to anyone but him alone its possibilities and feeling. (Annie Dillard)

Monday 29th June:
Every morning between 9 and 12 I go to my room and sit before a piece of paper. Many times I just sit for 3 hours with no ideas coming to me. But I know one thing: if an idea does come to between 9 and 12, I am there ready for it. (Flannery O'Connor)

Monday 22nd June:
Sometimes I write better than I can. (anon)

Monday 15th June:
How do I know what I think until I see what I say? (E.M. Forster)